Watkins College of Art, Design & Film is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges  (SACSCOC) to award the Bachelor of Fine Arts degree, the Bachelor of Arts degree, and the Master of Fine Arts degree. Contact the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges, 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 , telephone 404-679-4500, http://www.sacscoc.org.

Watkins College of Art, Design & Film is an accredited institutional member of the National Association of Schools of Art and Design (NASAD).


Watkins is a member of the Association of Independent Colleges of Art and Design (AICAD).

Watkins is authorized to offer undergraduate college degrees by the Tennessee Higher Education Commission. Held in trust by the State of Tennessee, Watkins is also the recipient of direct state funding through periodic acts of the General Assembly of Tennessee.

Watkins College of Art, Design & Film has been designated as a major cultural institution by local and state arts agencies and receives funding from the the Metro Nashville Arts Commission (MNAC)the Tennessee Arts Commission (TAC), and the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA).


Metro Nashville Arts Commission           

Watkins has an agreement with Belmont University that allows students in Belmont’s Mike Curb College of Music and Entertainment Business to take the prescribed coursework for a minor in Film and allows Belmont Honors Students to take Watkins coursework selected to complete their Plan of Study.  The agreement also allows Watkins students to take classes in the Mike Curb College of Music and Entertainment Business and classes within Belmont’s general course offerings.

Watkins has an academic partnership with Fisk University that allows Fisk students to earn a concentration in graphic design, minor in film studies, or minor in interior design.

Watkins has established 2+2 articulation agreements for specific programs with Columbia State Community College, Pellissippi State Technical Community College, Rend Lake College and Georgia Perimeter College, allowing students to transfer to Watkins for the final two years of their degrees.  In addition, the college participates in the Tennessee Transfer Pathways, enabling students at all two-year community colleges in Tennessee to transfer to Watkins with a maximum number of credits for degree completion.

The Crime Awareness and Campus Security Act of 1990 (also known as the Jeanne Clery Act) requires colleges to disclose an Annual Safety Report (ASR). Each October, Watkins College of Art releases an ASR highlighting crime and fire statistics for the previous three years, updated safety and security procedures, and other information regarding campus crime and incidents.

View the report in PDF format.

A printed copy of this report is available at the front desk and the facilities office, or by emailing [email protected].